2016 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup

Estevan Saskatchewan – October 13th 2015

On Tuesday October 13th the Host committee of the 2016 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup, in partnership with the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), held its official kick off to the tournament. All games will be played at the Affinity Place Arena in Estevan Saskatchewan. The tournament will run from April 30th thru May 8th 2016.

“We are getting ready for the 2016 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup,” stated Chris Lewgood, GM/Head Coach, of the host Estevan Bruins.  “Affinity Place is new, it has to be one of the crown jewels for Junior A hockey.  The committees and volunteers are coming together and will ensure all the details are covered to ensure a successful tournament.”  “This is the first major event to be hosted in Estevan with Affinity Place opening its doors in the falls of 2011.”

To help the host committee make the official announcement of the tournament , all four League Commissioners and Presidents were in attendance; SJHL President Bill Chow, MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis, AJHL Commissioner Ryan Bartoshyk, BCHL Commissioner John Grisdale.  

Chairman & President of the Canadian Junior Hockey League, Kirk Lamb stated “Estevan and the SJHL have a long and storied history in junior hockey and we are very confident that this history will serve the event and hosts well in staging a successful tournament on and off the ice,” said CJHL President Kirk Lamb. “The fans of Estevan, of the SJHL, and of junior hockey in Western Canada are in for an exciting and competitive event as the best teams in the West vie for an opportunity to compete in the national championship.”

“The Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League is excited to have the Estevan Bruins host the Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup in the spring of 2016, said Bill Chow President of the SJHL.  This will be our opportunity to continue the progress of the Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup that has been established previously in Nanaimo, Dauphin and Fort McMurray. The Estevan area is a great sporting community and by hosting this great event they will be able to display their great support for Junior A hockey.”

The 2016 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup will see champions of the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL), Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), British Columbia Junior Hockey League (BCHL), and Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL) participate in a five-team tournament along with the host Estevan Bruins compete for the Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup title. The Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup Champion and the runner-up will both represent Western Canada at the 2016 RBC Cup National Junior A Championship.

Upon release of the tournament schedule and event information can be found at westerncanadacup.com and on Twitter @CJHL_WCC.
For further information contact:

Bill Chow President of the SJHL bchow.sjhl@sasktel.net   306-961-4554
Kim Davis Commissioner of the MJHL commissioner@mjhlhockey.ca 204-925-5644
Ryan Bartoshyk Commissioner of the AJHL commissioner@ajhl.ca 403-995-9609
John Grisdale Commissioner of the BCHL jgrisdale@bchl.ca  604-291-6530