CJHL announces roster for Prospects Game

James McIssac of the Portage Terriers has been named to the roster of Team West which will compete in the annual Prospects Game. The game will take place January 25 in Cornwall, ON.

“For sure it was a goal of mine heading into this season and a big accomplishment for me,” said McIssac, who hails from Winnipeg.

“While its flattering being the only MJHL player picked, it’s humbling knowing all the talent in this league. I’m looking forward to the game and catching up with a few familiar names I’ve played with or against in the past. I’m excited to get there and just play my game and represent the MJHL well.”

McIssac, 17, is having an excellent season, sitting 10th overall in points in the MJHL with 17 goals and 19 assists averaging just over a point per game. He’s also the youngest player in the top 10 scoring race.

McIsaac joined the Terriers earlier this season in a trade with the Winnipeg Blues.

“James plays important minutes for us and has a very good combination of skill and grit,” said Terriers’ GM/Head Coach Blake Spiller.

The remaining CJHL roster can be seen here.

Each of the players chosen to participate in the CJHL Prospects Game were selected through the efforts of NHL Central Scouting and are currently among the top 40 CJHL prospects heading into the 2017 NHL Draft in Chicago.

The head coaches are Martin Dagenais of the Ottawa Jr. Senators (CCHL) and Rick Swan of the Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL).

“We congratulate each of the players on their selection to compete in the 2017 CJHL Prospects Game in Cornwalland commend NHL Central Scouting for their contributions in helping formalize the Team East and Team West rosters,” offered CJHL President Brent Ladds.

“We are confident this group of young men will provide all those in attendance, including the multitude of scouts and Junior A hockey fans alike, a tremendous showcase of CJHL talent from right across the country,” added Ladds.

The President’s Cup is awarded to the winning team in the CJHL Prospects Game. From 2005 until 2008, the event ran as a single game, but starting in 2009 the President’s Cup was played as a two game series where the combined score of the games determined the winner of the title.

The contest has now gone back to a single-game format along with on-ice player testing having been introduced.

Since its inception, Team West has won six times while Team East has come away victorious on five occasions.

All-Time CJHL Prospects Game President’s Cup results
2006: Team West 5 Team East 4 (Yorkton, Sask.)
2007: Team West 6 Team East 2 (Vernon, B.C.)
2008: Team East 5 Team West 3 (Winkler, Man.)
2009: Team East 6 Team West 3 (Summerside, P.E.I.)
2010: Team West 8 Team East 3 (8-1, 0-2) (Winkler, Man.)
2011: Team East 9 Team West 2 (2-1 SO, 7-1) (Dauphin, Man.)
2012: Team West 9 Team East 6 (4-3 OT, 5-3) (Langley, B.C.)
2013: Team West 8 Team East 6 (5-0, 3-6) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2014: Team East 8 Team West 4 (4-2, 4-2) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2015: Team West 3 Team East 2 (Oakville, Ont.)