Flyers’ Cech named CJHL Coach of the Year finalist

Courtesy of Canadian Junior Hockey League

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), in conjunction with the National Hockey League Coaches’ Association, announced Tuesday the names of the six finalists for the 2019-20 Darcy Haugan/Mark Cross Memorial Award, emblematic of CJHL Coach of the Year.

This honour, presented annually by the CJHL and NHLCA, is in memory of Humboldt Broncos (SJHL) head coach Darcy Haugan and assistant Mark Cross, who were among those who sadly lost their lives following the tragic events of April 6, 2018.

Each of the six nominees were determined, following a voting process completed by each of the CJHL’s 10-member leagues, for their respective efforts during the course of the regular season.

Kelvin Cech, Winkler Flyers (MJHL)

After spending three seasons as an assistant coach with UBC (U SPORTS) Cech led a resurgence of the Winkler Flyers in his first season as a junior head coach. Missing the playoffs last season, the Flyers clinched a spot in the 2020 playoffs under the leadership of Cech and his commitment to building a strong culture and development environment in Winkler. His club finished with a record of 38-17-2-3 for 81 points. In his first year at the helm behind the Winkler bench, Cech led his club to a 30-point improvement over the Flyers record last season.

Tyler Deis, Okotoks Oilers (AJHL)

Jason Fortier, Coquitlam Express (BCHL)

Jason Clarke, Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL)

Billy McGuigan, Summerside Western Capitals (MHL)

Brayden Klimosko, Battlefords North Stars (SJHL)

Earning honourable mention for the 2019-20 Darcy Haugan/Mark Cross Memorial Award as CJHL Coach of the Year, presented in conjunction with the NHL Coaches’ Association, for 2019-20 were: Éric Bouchard, Le Collège Français de Longueuil (LHJAAAQ); Dave Clancy, Espanola Express (NOJHL); Derek Smith, Wellington Dukes (OJHL) and Robert DeGagne, Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL).