MJHL alumni capture 2015 Allan Cup

The MJHL was well represented on the South East Prairie Thunder, who recently captured the 2015 Allan Cup, awarded to the top senior men’s hockey team in Canada. The Prairie Thunder, who are based out of Steinbach, defeated Bentley Generals (Alberta) 2-0 in the final held in Newfoundland.

Headling the list of MJHL alumni were Blair MacAuley (Saints), Nick Cowan (Swan Valley), Del Cowan (Neepawa), Anders Strome (Blues) Rob Smith (Pistons assistant coach/Saint alumni), Dale Butland (Blues), Dustin DeGagne (Blues), Jamie Dowhayko (Saints) and Dustin Hughes (Steelers).

The Prairie Thunder will be hosting the 2016 Allan Cup tournament.