MJHL alumni inducted into MB Hockey Hall of Fame

A number of MJHL alumni are being honoured by the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame.

Inducted into the Builders’ category are former Selkirk Steelers coach Al Hares, Andy Murray, John Paddock and the late Hockey Winnipeg director Dianne Woods.

Many MJHL fans may not remember, but Andy Murray was once a coach of the then-Brandon Travellers who competed in the MJHL. Murray went on to coach in the NHL, while Paddock, best known as the former GM/head coach of the Winnipeg Jets, suited up for the Travellers.

Dianne Woods was the long-time governor of the St. James Canadians, who won back-to-back championships in the ‘90s. Hares, who still resides in Selkirk, won several MJHL championships and ANAVET Cups.

“This is a tremendous honour for the inductees,” MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis said. “The MJHL is extremely proud of their accomplishments and their contributions to our league.”

The inductees will be officially welcomed to The Hall this coming fall.