MJHL announces award nominees

Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards have been finalized, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

“Each team submitted a nominee for the awards and the league’s 11 coaches subsequently conducted a vote,” explained Davis. “Each of the nominees should be very proud of their accomplishment.”

The respective winners will be announced later this week. The Mike Ridley Award, given to league’s top point producer, will be known when the regular season comes to an end.

The award finalists are:

MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy

Mackenzie Graham – Steinbach Pistons
Chase Brakel – Portage Terriers
Brady Keeper – OCN Blizzard

Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy

Riese Gaber – Dauphin Kings
Will Koop – Steinbach Pistons
Cole Weaver- Winkler Flyers

Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Memorial Trophy

Jeremey Leipsic – Portage Terriers
Scott Gall – Winkler Flyers
Justin Metcalf – Neepawa Natives

Top Goaltender Award

Hayden Dola – Selkirk Steelers
Cole Weaver  – Winkler Flyers
Roman Bengert – Steinbach Pistons

Top Defenseman Award – Brian Kozak Memorial Trophy

Brady Keeper – OCN Blizzard
Tyler Anderson – Steinbach Pistons
Lawson McDonald – Winkler Flyers

Top Scorer Award – Mike Ridley Trophy

TBA at a later date

Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award

Paul Dyck – Steinbach Pistons
Ken Pearson – Winkler Flyers
Doug Hedley – OCN Blizzard