MJHL announces nominees for major awards


Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards have been finalized, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

“Each team submitted a nominee for the awards and the league’s 11 coaches subsequently conducted a vote,” explained Davis. “Each of the nominees should be very proud of their accomplishment.”

The respective winners and league all-stars will be announced later this week. The Mike Ridley Award, given to league’s top point producer, will be known when the regular season comes to an end.

The award finalists are:

 MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy

Jeremy Link                    Winnipeg Blues
Josh Tripp                        Swan Valley Stampeders
Isaac Labelle                    Waywayseecappo Wolverines

Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy

Owen Murray                  Portage Terriers
Colby Jaquet                    Selkirk Steelers
Drake Burgin                   Winkler Flyers

 Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Frank McKinnon Memorial Trophy

Tony Apetagon                Winnipeg Blues
Ben Dalke                        Virden Oil Capitals
Ty Barnstable                  Portage Terriers

Top Goaltender Award

Isaac LaBelle                   Waywayseecappo Wolverines
Jeremy Link                    Winnipeg Blues
Matthew Radomsky         Steinbach Pistons

Top Defenceman Award – Brian Kozak Memorial Trophy

Quintin Sudom                Swan Valley Stampeders
Troy Williams                  Steinbach Pistons
Riley Shamray                 Dauphin Kings

 Top Scorer Award – Mike Ridley Trophy

TBA at season’s end

Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award

Paul Dyck                        Steinbach Pistons
Blake Spiller                    Portage Terriers
Barry Wolff                     Swan Valley Stampeders