MJHL Awards 2019-20 | Goalie, Rookie, Sportsmanship

The Manitoba Junior Hockey League proudly announces 2019-20 award winners for Goaltender of the Year, Rookie of the Year, and the Playing Ability and Sportsmanship Award.

Goaltender of the Year – Matt Lenz (Steinbach Pistons)
In his 20-year old season and second year with the Steinbach Pistons, Lenz ran with the starting role.  His spectacular season has shown Lenz leading the Pistons with a current record of 28-4-1 along with 2.08GAA, .924SV%, and 1SO.  Lenz recently committed to Mercyhurst University (NCAA Division 1).

Rookie of the Year – Carter Loney (Steinbach Pistons)
In his first full MJHL season, 17-year old Loney has established himself as bonafide all-star.  The young Minnesota-Duluth (NCAA Division 1) commit currently sits with 48GP, 15G-32A, 47PTS this season.  Earlier this season Loney competed in the World Junior A Challenge with Team Canada West and also participated in the CJHL Prospects Game where he was the top on-ice skills testing performer.

Playing Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Ty Naaykens (Steinbach Pistons)
Consistently displaying good character while maintaining a competitive nature and a high standard of playing ability earns Naaykens this deserving award.  In his second MJHL season, and first with the Steinbach Pistons, Naaykens has totalled 54GP, 22G-29A, 51PTS.  While still using his size to his advantage, Naaykens’ conduct within the rules has only had him accumulate 12PIM.