Pistons’ Head Coach Reflects on 250 Regular Season Wins

Submitted by Steinbach Pistons

With Wednesday’s victory over the Virden Oil Caps, Pistons Head Coach and General Manager Paul Dyck reached a milestone by registering his 250th regular season win as coach.

He is the fastest in MJHL history to reach 250 wins, doing it in only 376 games. Dyck also recently passed Bill Allum and Al Hares on January 26th, to move into 10th place on the MJHL all-time head coach wins list.

“It feels like any other win, I suppose,” Dyck said with a chuckle. “Every win has felt good. You look at the number, and it means that we have had some good teams here.”

Dyck was quick to credit all who have been with the Pistons throughout his tenure. “We’ve had some great players here, and I’m thankful for a staff that’s been very strong. I’m just very appreciative of them. It’s a team effort, no question about it.”

Dyck joins three other active coaches in the top 10 list. Ken Pearson of the Winkler Flyers has the most active wins with 513 wins to put him in 3rd place. Blake Spiller of the Portage Terriers is 4th all time with 481 wins. Doug Hedley, currently with the OCN Blizzard, is 7th on the list with 347 wins as a coach.

Dyck began his tenure on December 16th, 2011 when the Pistons lost to the Selkirk Steelers 4-3 in overtime. His first win as head coach came two days later, as his team beat the Steelers on home ice by a score of 8-4.

The Steinbach Pistons would like to congratulate Paul on his 250th win as Head Coach.

MJHL Top 10 List

1 – Doug Stokes  – 670 wins (Kildonan North Stars, Winnipeg South Blues, Dauphin Kings, Selkirk Steelers, Winnipeg Saints)

2 – Don MacGillvary – 669 wins (St. James Canadians, Southeast Blades, Neepawa Natives, Portage Terriers, Winnipeg Blues)

3 – Ken Pearson* – 513 wins (Winnipeg Blues, Winkler Flyers)

4 – Blake Spiller* – 481 wins (Portage Terriers)

5 – Marlon Murray – 348 wins (Dauphin Kings)

6 – Bruce Schmidt – 347 wins (Southeast Blades, Winnipeg Saints)

7 – Doug Hedley* – 347 wins (Dauphin Kings, OCN Blizzard)

8 – Barry Butler – 328 wins (Waywayseecappo Wolverines)

9 – Jeff Wiest – 300 wins (Winkler Flyers, Swan Valley Stampeders, Dauphin Kings)

10 – Paul Dyck* – 250 wins (Steinbach Pistons)

*- indicates active coach

(stats courtesy of Russ Dyck)