Seven MJHLers named to Canada West selection camp

A total of seven MJHLers have been selected to attend the Canada West selection camp for the upcoming World Junior A Challenge. Camp opens December 5 in Leduc, Alberta.

The MJHL will be sending five defenceman: Daby Gala (Steinbach Pistons), Stephen Kleysen (Winnipeg Blues), Lawson McDonald (Winkler), Brett Orr (Portage) and Dean Stewart (Portage).

Forwards Mack Graham (Steinbach) and Tristan Langan (Swan Valley Stampeders) will be vying for spots among a total of 60 players.

The selection camp roster was chosen by Team Canada West head coach Tim  Fragle (Sherwood Park, AJHL) along with assistant coaches Paul Dyck  (Steinbach, MJHL), Mike Reagan (Flin Flon, SJHL) and Barry Wolff  (Coquitlam, BCHL), and director of hockey operations Trevor Alto (BCHL).

To see the entire Canada West lineup, go to:
This year marks the 10th edition of the World Junior A Challenge – executed as part of a partnership between Hockey Canada and the CJHL. The event visits Ontario for the first time since its inception in 2006. Two Canadian  teams and four international squads will form the two groups of three teams that face off Dec. 13-19 at the Cobourg Community Centre in Cobourg and the
 Iroquois Park Sports Centre in Whitby.
EXTRA POINTS:  Team Canada West won gold at the first
 two tournaments, in 2006 and 2007, and also took the top prize in 2011. The  team also earned silver in 2008, 2009 and 2012, and won bronze in 2013.  Team Canada East earned silver medals in 2006, 2007, 2010 and 2011, and claimed bronze in 2008.

For more information on the 2015 World Junior A Challenge, please visit, or follow along via social media at or