Terriers’ Stewart named to CJHL Prospects Game

Portage Terriers’ defenceman Dean Stewart has been selected to play in the 2016 Prospects Game later this month.

The 18-year-old recently won gold with Team West at the World Junior A Challenge. It’s been an outstanding season for the product of Portage.

“It’s a real honour to be selected to this team,” said Stewart, who has good size at 6-foot-2, 175-pounds. “I really enjoyed my experience with Team West at the WJA. Winning gold was a real thrill.”

The Prospects game is scheduled for Jan. 26 at South Surrey Arena in Surrey,  B.C.

The CJHL Prospects Game was created to showcase the top NHL prospects in the CJHL as identified by NHL Central Scouting. The game features players from the CJHL’s five western leagues (BCHL, AJHL, SJHL, MJHL, SIJHL), competing against players from the CJHL’s five eastern leagues (NOJHL, OJHL, CCHL, QJHL, MHL).

The winning team is awarded the President’s Cup. Player selection for the annual CJHL Prospects Game is a joint initiative
of the CJHL and NHL Central Scouting.

“I look forward to the opportunity to work with such a talented group of players. To have the top players in the country all in one game is
something special,” said Team West head coach Brandon West.

“These prospects have worked hard to get to this level and this event will allow them to showcase their talents in front of fans and the hockey world. It should be a great experience for all involved.”

Team West includes nine players from the British Columbia Hockey League  (BCHL), nine from the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL), one from the Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL) and one from the Saskatchewan Junior  Hockey League (SJHL).


Team West


Kurtis Chapman Olds Grizzlys (AJHL)
Matt Murray Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL)


Dennis Cholowski Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL)
Dante Fabbro Penticton Vees (BCHL)
James Miller Olds Grizzlys (AJHL)
Brinson Pasichnuk Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL)
Dean Stewart Portage Terriers (MJHL)
Cory Thomas Flin Flon Bombers (SJHL)


Noah Bauld Lloydminster Bobcats (AJHL)
Kyle Betts Powell River Kings (BCHL)
Brandon Biro Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL)
Colin Grannary Merritt Centennials (BCHL)
Blake Hayward Coquitlam Express (BCHL)
Tyson Jost Penticton Vees (BCHL)
Jesse Lansdell Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL)
Kohen Olischefski Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL)
Riley Smith Olds Grizzlys (ACHL)
Jeffrey Stewart Surrey Eagles (BCHL)
Troy Van Tetering Lloydminster Bobcats (AJHL)
Justin Young Whitecourt Wolverines (AJHL)