Blues’ alumni Clark will play in Spengler Cup

Former Winnipeg South Blue Kevin Clark will pull on a Team Canada sweater at the upcoming Spengler Cup tournament.

Clark, who went on to play for University of Alaska-Anchorage, is currently playing for SCL Tigers in Switzerland. The 27-year-old Winnipeg native also played for the Manitoba Moose and St. John’s Ice Caps.

The Spengler Cup begins Boxing Day in Davos, Switzerland.

“The Spengler Cup is the oldest invitational hockey tournament, and holds a  special place in the hearts of Canadians and hockey fans around the world,”  said George McPhee, director of player personnel for Team Canada at the Spengler Cup.

“We have assembled a talented group of players who, alongside
 head coach Guy Boucher and assistant coach Rob Cookson, will be making Canada proud as they represent the red-and-white in Davos.”
The three returning players from the 2014 Spengler Cup include: goaltender Drew MacIntyre (Charlottetown/Charlotte, AHL), and forwards Alexandre Giroux (Quebec City/HC Ambri-Piotta, SUI), and Chris DiDomenico (Woodbridge, Ont./SCL Tigers, SUI).
Team Canada will be rounded out by  Goaltender: Jeff Glass (Calgary/Dinamo Minsk, KHL);  Defencemen: Keith Aulie (Rouleau, Sask./Springfield, AHL), Trevor Carrick (Stouffville, Ont./Charlotte, AHL), Mark Cundari (Toronto/San Jose, AHL), Marc-André Bergeron (Trois-Rivières, Que./ZSC Lions, SUI), Aaron
 Johnson (Port Hawkesbury, N.S./Stockton, AHL), Alexandre Picard (Gatineau, Que./HC Fribourg-Gottéron, SUI), and Daniel Vukovic (North York, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI).
Forwards: Kris Foucault (Calgary/ZSC Lions, SUI), Derek Roy (Rockland, Ont./SC Bern, SUI), Kevin Clark (Winnipeg/SCL Tigers, SUI), Dan Paille (Welland, Ont./Rockford, AHL), Matthew Lombardi (Montreal/Genève-Servette HC, SUI), Cory Conacher (Burlington, Ont./SC Bern, SUI), Manny Malhotra (Mississauga, Ont./Lake Erie, AHL), Cory Emmerton (St. Thomas, Ont./HC
 Ambri-Piotta, SUI), Tom Pyatt (Thunder Bay, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI), Matt D’Agostini (Sault Ste. Marie, Ont./Genève-Servette HC, SUI), Matt Ellison (Duncan, B.C./Dinamo Minsk, KHL), and James Sheppard (Lower Sackville, N.S./Kloten Flyers, SUI).
Canada has appeared in 10 of the last 14 championship games at the Spengler Cup, winning the tournament in 2002, 2003, 2007 and 2012. Overall, Canada’s National Men’s Team has won the Spengler Cup 12 times (1984, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2002, 2003, 2007, 2012) since first taking part in 1984.
Canada opens the tournament against Avtomobilist Yekaterinberg on Saturday,  Dec. 26 at 2:15 p.m. ET. TSN, Hockey Canada’s official broadcaster, is scheduled to broadcast all tournament games; please check local listings and  visit for details.