Hamilton to host CJHL Prospects Game

Courtesy of Canadian Junior Hockey League:

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League, in conjunction with the National Hockey League and Hockey Canada announced Friday that Hamilton, Ont., has been selected as the host city for the 15th annual CJHL Prospects Game, which will be held on Tuesday, January 14, 2019 at Dave Andreychuk Arena. Game time is 7 p.m. ET.

This contest will feature 40 of the top NHL Draft eligible players from across the entire 10-league, 131-team CJHL taking part.

Once formulated, the rosters will see 20 prospects that were selected from the five eastern-based CJHL leagues (MHL, LHJAAAQ, CCHL, OJHL & NOJHL) taking on top 20 prospects from the CJHL’s five western-based leagues (BCHL, AJHL, SJHL, MJHL & SIJHL).

Each of the team line-ups will be chosen in partnership with NHL Central Scouting and will be announced at a later date as will the respective coaching staffs for the two sides and other related information, such as ticket prices, game broadcast details, etc.


The CJHL Prospects Game is one of the premier Junior A hockey events in the country and provides tremendous exposure for CJHL players to play in front of scouts from all over the hockey world – including the NHL, NCAA, CHL and U Sports.

From 2005 until 2008, the event ran as a single game, but starting in 2009 the President’s Cup was played as a two-game series where the combined score of the games determined the winner of the title.

The contest has now gone back to a single-game format along with player testing, both on-ice and off-ice, having been introduced.

Since its inception, Team West has won nine times while Team East has come away victorious on five occasions.

CJHL Prospects Game President’s Cup Results
2006: Team West 5 Team East 4 (Yorkton, Sask.)
2007: Team West 6 Team East 2 (Vernon, B.C.)
2008: Team East 5 Team West 3 (Winkler, Man.)
2009: Team East 6 Team West 3 (Summerside, P.E.I.)
2010: Team West 8 Team East 3 (8-1, 0-2) (Winkler, Man.)
2011: Team East 9 Team West 2 (2-1, SO, 7-1) (Dauphin, Man.)
2012: Team West 9 Team East 6 (4-3 OT, 5-3) (Langley, B.C.)
2013: Team West 8 Team East 6 (5-0, 3-6) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2014: Team East 8 Team West 4 (4-2, 4-2) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2015: Team West 3 Team East 2 (Oakville, Ont.)
2016: Team East 3 Team West 1 (Surrey, B.C.)
2017: Team West 4 Team East 3 (Cornwall, Ont.)
2018: Team West 5 Team East 2 (Mississauga, Ont.)
2019: Team West 5 Team East 2 (Okotoks, Alta.)
2020: Team East vs. Team West (Hamilton, Ont.)