Memorial Cup History

Memorial Cup remains deeply rooted in Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL) history.  For fifty-three seasons, 1919-1971, Manitoba Junior Hockey League clubs competed for the opportunity to earn the National title as Memorial Cup champions.  The MJHL which began in 1917-18 as the Winnipeg & District Junior Hockey League until 1933, showed great success throughout five decades with a total of 18 appearances and 11 titles earned by member clubs.

In several of the early years the champion of the MJHL (Winnipeg & District Junior Hockey League) would be required by MAHA (Hockey Manitoba) to play a rural challenger for the opportunity to advance to the Western Canada Memorial Cup Playoffs which generally had the champions of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Thunder Bay.  The winner of the Western Canada Memorial Cup Playoffs would advanced to the Memorial Cup Finals in a series against the Eastern Canada champion.

The Manitoba Centennial Trophy was presented to the CAHA (Hockey Canada) by the MAHA (Hockey Manitoba) in 1970-71. At that time, the CAHA reconfigured their junior tiers, creating two separate classifications – Major junior and Junior A.  It was determined that the Memorial Cup, which had served as the CAHA’s national championship since 1919, would become the new championship trophy for the CMJHL (CHL) while the Manitoba Centennial Trophy served as the trophy for the champions of the new Junior A division (CJHL).

YearChampionRunner-UpLocationAbbott Cup (Western)ProvincialLeague
1920Toronto Canoe Club PaddlersSelkirk FishermenToronto, ONdef. Calgary MonarchsLeaguedef. Young Mens Lutheran Club
1921Winnipeg FalconsStratford MidgetsToronto, ONdef. Regina VictoriasLeaguedef. Portage la Prairie
1923University of Manitoba BisonsKitchener ColtsToronto, ONdef. Calgary Canadiansdef. Brandon Tigersdef. Winnipeg Victoria Bisons
1929Toronto MarlborosElmwood MillionairesToronto, ONdef. Calgary Canadians-Falconsdef. Birtle-Minnedosadef. Winnipeg Columbus Club
1931Elmwood MillionairesOttawa PrimroseToronto/Ottawa, ONdef. Regina PatsLeaguedef. Winnipeg Monarchs
1932Sudbury Cub WolvesWinnipeg MonarchsWinnipeg, MBdef. Saskatoon Wesleysdef. Brandon Victoriasdef. Kenora Thistles
1935Winnipeg MonarchsSudbury Cub WolvesWinnipeg, MBdef. Saskatoon Wesleysdef. The Pas Huskiesdef. Elmwood Maple Leafs
1937Winnipeg MonarchsCopper Cliff RedmenToronto, ONdef. Saskatoon WesleysLeaguedef. St. Boniface Seals
1938St. Boniface SealsOshawa GeneralsToronto, ONdef. Edmonton Athletic ClubLeaguedef. Winnipeg Monarchs
1940Oshawa GeneralsKenora ThistlesWinnipeg, MBdef. Edmonton Athletic ClubLeaguedef. Elmwood Maple Leafs
1941Winnipeg RangersMontreal Junior RoyalsToronto, ON/Montreal, QCdef. Saskatoon QuakersLeaguedef. East Kildonan Bisons
1942Portage TerriersOshawa GeneralsWinnipeg, MBdef. Edmonton Maple LeafsLeaguedef. St. Boniface Athletics
1943Winnipeg RangersOshawa GeneralsToronto, ONdef. Saskatoon QuakersLeaguedef. St. Boniface Athletics
1946Winnipeg MonarchsToronto St. Michael's MajorsToronto, ONdef. Edmonton CanadiansLeaguedef. Brandon Elks
1949Montreal Junior RoyalsBrandon Wheat KingsWinnipeg/Brandon, MBdef. Calgary BuffalosLeaguedef. Winnipeg Canadiens
1951Barrie FlyersWinnipeg MonarchsWinnipeg/Brandon, MBdef. Regina PatsLeaguedef. Brandon Wheat Kings
1953Barrie FlyersSt. Boniface CanadiensWinnipeg/Brandon, MBdef. Lethbridge Native SonsLeaguedef. Brandon Wheat Kings
1959Winnipeg BravesPeterborough PetesWinnipeg/Brandon, MBdef. Flin Flon BombersLeaguedef. St. Boniface Canadiens