MJHL Announces Scholarship Fund Winners

Three graduates of the Manitoba Junior Hockey League are winners of the MJHL Scholarship Fund, commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

Nolan McGuire (Winkler Flyers), Mitch Dyck (Winkler) and Dexter Kuczek (Winnipeg Blues have each been awarded a $1,200 scholarship to a Canadian post-secondary institution.

“These three players are tremendous individuals both on and off the ice,” said Davis. “We recognize that going to a post-secondary institution requires financial resources. These scholarships will assist our graduating players to pursue their academic goals. We wish them the best of luck in their futures.”

Both McGuire and Dyck will be attending the University of Manitoba this coming fall, while Kuczek, who won the MJHL scoring title this past season with 92 points will be studying at Lakehead University.

Kuczek, who hails from Winnipeg, was named the MJHL’s MVP this past season.

The MJHL Scholarship is the second honour for Dyck, who hails from Winkler. It was announced recently that the defenceman had been awarded the MJHL’s RBC Junior A Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.

“I’m honoured to be selected for these scholarships,” said Dyck, who plans to study kinesiology at U of M. “My long-term goal is to possibly open a gym/training centre and become an athletic therapist with a team.”

McGuire also hails from Winkler. This past season he recorded 42 points (25-17) in 47 games. “I’m very honoured to have been selected for this scholarship,” he said.

“My MJHL experience was very positive. I had great teammates and of course I’d like to thank the Flyers’ coaching staff for all their assistance.”