MJHL to compete at 2022 Centennial Cup in Estevan

Courtesy of CJHL

CALGARY, Alta. – In collaboration with the local organizing committees of its three spring 2022 national championships, Hockey Canada has announced changes to the Esso Cup, TELUS Cup and Centennial Cup, presented by Tim Hortons, for this season.

The 2022 Esso Cup and 2022 TELUS Cup will run from May 16–22 in a centralized location in Alberta, while the Centennial Cup, presented by Tim Hortons, will be held May 19-29 in Estevan, Sask.

The Prince Albert Bears and Sydney Rush, who were originally scheduled to host the Esso Cup and TELUS Cup, respectively, will remain as host teams for the 2022 events and will travel to Alberta to compete. Hockey Canada will continue to work with the host communities of Prince Albert, Sask., and Cape Breton, N.S., to plan to host future events.

“After having to cancel our spring national championships in 2020 and 2021, we are excited that today’s announcement is one step closer to crowning national champions in May,” said Dean McIntosh, vice-president of events and properties for Hockey Canada. “While we are disappointed we will not be hosting national championships in Prince Albert and Cape Breton this spring, we look forward to returning to both communities in the future. They have been tremendous partners and support the changes that are being made for the benefit of the athletes.”

The new dates for the 2022 Esso Cup and 2022 TELUS Cup will allow for each region to decide a champion through its traditional playdown schedule.

The 2022 Centennial Cup, presented by Tim Hortons, will be a 10-team event hosted in partnership with the City of Estevan, Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) and Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL), with the host Estevan Bruins welcoming the champions of the nine CJHL leagues.

“We would like to thank the local organizing committees, our Members and the CJHL for their collaboration to determine championship formats that ensure the safety for all participants while allowing the leagues the opportunity to finish their seasons and compete for a national title. Moving events of this magnitude is a process that involves all partners, and without the support of all constituents it would not be possible,” added McIntosh.

Schedules and ticket information for the spring 2022 national championships will be announced at a later date.

For more information on Hockey Canada, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow along on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

CJHL REGIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS UPDATE: In lieu of today’s announcement, it was also determined that since each of the nine member-league champions will advance directly to compete in the Centennial Cup, that the four CJHL regional championship events (Fred Page Cup, Dudley-Hewitt Cup, ANAVET Cup, Doyle Cup) will not be held this season.