MJHL’s six major awards announced

February 13, 2015


Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards were announced today. Not surprisingly, four members of the Portage Terriers ─ No. 1 ranked team in the CJHL ─ have been nominated for awards.

“Each nominee should be extremely proud of their accomplishment and their excellence on the ice,” MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis said today. “The MJHL member clubs nominated players in each of the award categories. The voting for each award was done entirely by the head coaches.”

Winners will be announced next week, with the players being honoured at a home game later this month.


MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy

Tristan Keck      Winkler Flyers

Tanner Jago      Portage Terriers

Graham Hunt     Swan Valley Stampeders


Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy

Dylan Thiessen            Virden Oil Capitals

James Shearer             Steinbach Pistons

Rylee Zimmer             Waywayseecappo Wolverines


Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Memorial Trophy

Soren Frederiksen       Virden Oil Capitals

Brad Bowles               Portage Terriers

Jackson Keane           Winnipeg Blues


Top Goaltender Award

Graham Hunt     Swan Valley Stampeders

Dasan Sydora     Winkler Flyers

Nick Deery        Steinbach Pistons


Top Defenseman Award – Brian Kozak Memorial Trophy

Tanner Jago     Portage Terriers

Ryan Bittner     Winnipeg Blues

Jordan Greig     Virden Oil Capitals


Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award

Paul Dyck                   Steinbach Pistons

Don MacGillivray          Winnipeg Blues

Blake Spiller                Portage Terriers


The MJHL’s other major award, Top Scorer  – Mike Ridley Trophy ─ will be announced upon the end of the regular season.