OCN Blizzard Sale Approved

The Manitoba Junior Hockey League is pleased to introduce the new owners of the OCN Blizzard.

Recently, a group of business owners in The Pas, MB consisting of Mr. Usman Tahir and Mr. Salman Safdar negotiated a Purchase Agreement with the current owners of the OCN Blizzard, the Opaskwayak Cree Nation.

On March 30, the MJHL Board of Governors approved a Motion to transfer the ownership of the OCN Blizzard from the current owners to Mr. Tahir and Mr. Safdar. The MJHL Board approval of the ownership transfer did require some additional steps on behalf of the new owners. The final steps of the approval process have been completed which prompts the official announcement being made today.

The Governor of the hockey club has also been announced as Ms. Lori Lathlin of Opaskwayak, MB who has served as the team Governor previously.

The arena location of the OCN Blizzard remains unchanged as the Gordon Lathlin Memorial Centre in Opaskwayak, MB and the new owners will begin the process of developing their organization going forward.