Dauphin Kings Neepawa Titans Niverville Nighthawks OCN Blizzard Portage Terriers Selkirk Steelers Steinbach Pistons Swan Valley Stampeders Virden Oil Capitals Wayway Wolverines Winkler Flyers Winnipeg Blues Winnipeg Freeze

Terriers’ Brakel named to the 2016 CJHL All-Academic All-Canadian Champions Team

Portage Terriers’ outstanding rookie Chase Brakel has drawn national attention. The Winnipeg native was named to the 2016 CJHL All-Academic All-Canadian Champions Team. A total of 10 CJHL players were selected for their academic excellence, and three C’s of character, community and competition for the full- time student athlete.

Players will be awarded a $500 scholarship and a certificate courtesy of the CJHL and Josten’s Canada which was presented at their respective regional Championship.  

Brakel, 18, had an outstanding rookie season, recording 50 points (27-23) in 60 games. Eight of his goals came via the powerplay.

The other winners were:

 Jean-Phillipe Beaulieu
Collège Français de Longueuil

Justin Boyer
Melfort Mustangs

Lane Gilliss
West Kelowna Warriors

Rory Graham
Pictou Weeks Crushers

Brandon Grandinetti
Soo Thunderbirds

Owen Grant
Carleton Place Canadians

Derek Lodermeier
Brooks Bandits

Liam Morgan
Trenton Golder Hawks

Cole Tymkin
Fort Francis Lakers