MJHL announces Scholarship Fund winners

Four graduates of the Manitoba Junior Hockey League are winners of the MJHL Scholarship Fund, commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

Drake Bodie (Virden Oil Capitals – University of Brandon), Kyle Bird (Virden Oil Capitals – University of Victoria), Alex Keena (Waywayseecappo Wolverines – University of Manitoba) and Zak Hicks (Winkler Flyers – Red Deer College) have each won a $750 scholarship to a Canadian post-secondary institution.  

“All four of these players are tremendous individuals both on and off the ice,” said Davis. “We recognize that going to a post-secondary institution can be an expensive decision. These scholarships will assist our graduating players to pursue their academic goals. We wish them the best of luck in their futures.”

Earlier this year, a pair of other scholarships were awarded to MJHL players: Daniel Taillefer (Steinbach Pistons) won the IBAM Scholarship ($2,000), while Nathan Karlowsky (Winkler Flyers) won the RBC Junior A Scholarship of $1,000.