Dauphin Kings Neepawa Titans Niverville Nighthawks OCN Blizzard Portage Terriers Selkirk Steelers Steinbach Pistons Swan Valley Stampeders Virden Oil Capitals Wayway Wolverines Winkler Flyers Winnipeg Blues Winnipeg Freeze

MJHL grads win American Collegiate Hockey Association Division I National Championship


Seven former members of the MJHL were part of the Minot State University men’s hockey program which recently captured the American Collegiate Hockey Association Division I National Championship in Frisco, TX.

 Winnipeg’s Adam Wowryk (Portage Terriers, Winnipeg Blues), Justin Metcalf (Neepawa), Rhett Lough (Selkirk, Waywayseecappo, Winnipeg), Portage la Prairie’s Johl Swedlo (Portage Waywayseecappo), Connor Navrot (Swan Valley), Landyn Cochrane (Wayway/Virden) and Medicine Hat’s Dylan Gejdos (Virden, Waywayseecappo) were members of the Beavers who posted a 3-1 win over Iowa State University.

 In our original story we omitted listing the names of Navrot, Gejdos and Cochrane. The omission was noticed by one of our key-eyed MJHL fans. Thank you. In the  meantime, we apologize for the omission.

 This was the second national championship for the Beavers.