Kings crowned 2022 MJHL Champions

The Dauphin Kings defeated the Steinbach Pistons 2-1 in game seven of the MJHL Championship Series on Wednesday night to capture the Turnbull Memorial Trophy for the first time since 2010.

It was the Steinbach Pistons who got off to a strong start on home ice in game seven, outshooting the Kings 14-5 in the opening twenty minutes. On a shorthanded play, Dawson Milliken jumped on a rebound in front off of a Bryce Kilbourne point shot and would beat Carson Cherepak to put Steinbach in front, 1-0.

After taking a late penalty in the first, Dauphin would be forced to kill off a early Steinbach powerplay to start the second. On the penalty kill, Logan Calder would jump on a Pistons turnover and beat Will Hambley to tie the game up at 1-1 just over one minute into the period.

Steinbach pressed more in the second but Kings goaltender, Carson Cherepak stood tall and kept out all 14 shots sent his way.

Midway through the third period the Pistons got caught playing in their own end when Kings youngster, Brayden Dube forced a turnover and spun around with a shot that slipped under the pad of Hambley, giving the Kings a 2-1 lead.

With just over two minutes to play in game seven, Carson Cherepak made a game saving glove save off the stick of Travis Hensrud who found himself all alone on a clear cut breakaway.

The Pistons would pull Hambley for the extra attacker but that’s as close as it would get with the Dauphin Kings skating away victorious in game seven to earn the Turnbull Memorial Trophy as MJHL Champions.

Kings goaltender, Carson Cherepak was named 2022 MJHL Playoff MVP for his outstanding performance in the postseason.

The Kings will now prepare for the 2022 Centennial Cup in Estevan, SK, that gets underway from May 18-29.