MJHL announces scholarship fund recipients

WINNIPEG, MB – The Manitoba Junior Hockey League (MJHL) is pleased to announce three recipients of the MJHL Scholarship Fund.

Rhys Bremner (Neepawa Titans), Gerrik Ripley (Waywayseecappo Wolverines), and Carson Tiede (Winnipeg Blues) have each been awarded a $1,200 scholarship to a Canadian post-secondary institution by the MJHL.

Rhys Bremner – Stonewall, Manitoba

Rhys Bremner spent three seasons in the MJHL playing in Neepawa. In 96 career games on defense, Bremner posted 5 goals and 21 assists. The Manitoban will attend the University of Alberta-Augustana in Camrose, Alberta.

Gerrik Ripley – Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta

Gerrik Ripley joined the Waywayseecappo Wolverines for parts of three seasons where he played 108 games, scoring 19 goals and 34 assists. Ripley is enrolled at the University of Alberta-Augustana in Camrose, Alberta where he will suit up for the Vikings in the ACAC. He was also named team captain for the 2020-21 season.

Carson Tiede – Winnipeg, Manitoba

Carson Tiede split his time in the MJHL between the Selkirk Steelers and Winnipeg Blues where he combined to play in 154 games. The blueliner notched 7 goals and 35 assists in his four seasons in the league. Tiede will continue his studies at the University of Manitoba this fall with a focus on Biochemistry.

MJHL Scholarships are provided to university and college bound players on an annual basis from a pool of applicants. The scholarship awards must be used by recipients for the cost of post-secondary education in the Canadian education system only. Funding for the MJHL Scholarship program is provided by corporate sponsors and through league fundraising efforts.